President Alvi administers oath to four cabinet members | The Express Tribune


President Dr Arif Alvi, following his sick leave, administered the oath of office to four new members of the federal cabinet on Friday.

The cabinet members were inducted in the presence of Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif at the Presidential Palace.


The four cabinet members who took oath today included Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q) President Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain’s son, Chaudhry Salik Hussain, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz’s Mian Javed Latif and Balochistan National Party-Mengal’s (BNP-M) Agha Hassan Baloch and Muhammad Hashim Notezai. Notezai took the oath as state minister while the rest were sworn in as ministers.

On oath, the cabinet members made the solemn pledge “to bear true faith and allegiance to Pakistan, discharge its duties honestly to the best of ability and faithfully in accordance with the Constitution of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan and the law”.

“I will strive to preserve the Islamic Ideology which is the basis for the creation of Pakistan. That I will not allow my personal interest to influence my official conduct or my official decisions,” said the new ministers while reading the text of the official oath.

Prior to today’s ceremony, President Alvi had not inducted any federal cabinet members and was also absent from Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif’s induction as premier after former prime minister Imran Khan was ousted through a no-trust move in the National Assembly.

Read Who opposed Dawar’s inclusion in the federal cabinet?

The president had sought leave on the pretext of ill health; Senate Chairman Sadiq Sanjrani had administered the oaths in his stead for both Shehbaz and his cabinet.

New cabinet

Earlier this week, Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif unveiled the federal cabinet, comprising 31 ministers and three ministers of state, including five women, doling out the ministerial posts to all the political heavyweights from coalition parties.

According to a notification issued by the Cabinet Division, PML-N’s Khawaja Asif got the defence portfolio; Ahsan Iqbal, planning and development; Rana Sanaullah, interior; Rana Tanveer, education; Marriyum Aurangzeb, information; Saad Rafique, railways and aviation. From the Pakistan Peoples Party, Syed Khursheed Shah got the portfolio of water resources; Syed Naveed Qamar, commerce; Sherry Rehman, climate change; Qadir Patel, health; Shazia Marri, poverty alleviation and social safety.

PPP’s Qamar Zaman Kaira, PML-N’s Engineer Amir Muqam and Aon Chaudhry from the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s dissident Jahangir Tareen faction were sworn in as advisers to the prime minister. Moreover, Dr Aisha Ghaus Pasha and Abdul Rehman Khan Kanju of the PML-N and Hina Rabbani Khar of the PPP were named ministers of state.

So far, no one has been named as the foreign minister. However, the role is expected to go to PPP chairperson Bilawal Bhutto.


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.